Likin' Bikin' bits


Tour de L’B’
September 28, 2011, 4:09 am
Filed under: Just Updates

We’ve made some changes to the layout here at the shop.

How ’bout a look around?

A little history? You asked for it! (Sorry, but I’m from CA, and I’m still fascinated by how stuff in NH is so much older)

When we opened the shop in Alton, I was told the place was built in 1810 as “Savage Tavern”. But after some research, it seems the initial build was in 1830 as a hotel called Cocheco House. So that makes the actual building we’re in now 20 years OLDER than the state of California. I know!

Earliest picture I could find is this first shot of George Savage (he bought the place in 1850) and his horse “Old Tom”.

As “Savage Tavern”, the building was used as an enlistment post for the Twelfth New Hampshire Regiment in the Civil War.

The second picture was taken sometime after 1896, which is when that monument was erected to Savage and approx 23 of his men who died in that war.

So there you have it. That’s Monument Square in Alton.

We’ve been here a little over a year, and each time I look around the place, or walk by those granite hitching posts outside, I’m reminded of  it’s age and place in American history… of which Likin’ Bikin’ is now a part.